Summer Beauty Selections

Warmer weather is just around the corner, I’ve just turned 20 a few days ago, this happens to be my 50th blog post, and the summer holiday is rapidly approaching. In other words, I’m feeling quite good at the moment – I’ve just got to get past final exams, and then there’s that sweet stretch of summer freedom. I will finally get to go home, which is a real treat, seeing as how my university is hundreds of miles away. But above that, I’m so looking forward to travelling, as I have plans to finally make my pilgrimage to Stratford-upon-Avon in July, which is terribly exciting for me, since I am a self-proclaimed Shakespeare enthusiast (Of course, it’s probably going to be a massive tourist trap, but I don’t really care). Naturally, I will need to look good while travelling, and as great as summer is, it also presents is own unique and annoying beauty problems. Thus, employing my sub-par Photoshop skills, I’ve compiled a list of all of my personal summer must-haves to keep myself looking in top shape while having plenty of money left over to spend on all the Chocolate Dream cocktails from Vodka Wodka in dear old Glasgow that I could ever ask for.

Summer beauty picks1. e.l.f Clarifying Pressed Powder: Maybe you think pressed powder is something your gran might use, but I practically depend on it year-round to keep my face from looking too shiny. Especially during the summer, in parts of the world where it can get very humid, this is an essential, and it also prevents my face from looking too sweaty in the summer heat. I just pat some onto my face where it can get a little oilier, and I’m good to go. The best part is, e.l.f. products are always a ridiculously affordable steal.

2. Maybelline Volum’ Express “The Falsies” Waterproof Mascara: Sweat, humidity, and heat can cause mascara to become a disgusting goopy mess – long, lush lashes can be transformed instantly into a sticky, smeared nightmare. I’ve found that this mascara stays put, however, in all conditions, and it coats every lash quite easily for impressive length and volume. Waterproof is also a bonus if you’ll be in places like the UK where the summer months can still be quite damp. Personally, I prefer blackest black, but it also comes in a variety of other hues.

3. LUSH A Million Kisses Lip Tint: This is my personal favourite of LUSH’s lip tints. It’s a nice, punchy shade of coral perfect for summer. It goes on very light, too, because the last thing I want is sticky, thick, lipstick in hot weather. It’s very strongly pigmented, but the nice thing is that you can apply it layer-by-layer to create the perfect intensity, from a subtle, petal-like pink to an eye-catching bright scarlet. And it stays on all day as a cute, lighter, less in-your-face update on the retro red lip that looks good with all complexions. This product also works double-duty as a cheek colour!

4. LUSH BB Seaweed Fresh Face Mask: As you can probably tell by the sheer amount of LUSH products I have here, this list is probably another manifestation with my ongoing love affair with the cosmetics company. I’m a great admirer of their all-natural, chemical-free approach to creating cosmetics, and the BB Seaweed mask, a member of their large range of freshly made masks, is one of the many products I swear by. It has chunks of real seaweed in it and never fails to leave my skin feeling soft, even, and clear with a healthy natural glow. It’s great for sensitive skin, and it’s lovely to use in warmer weather because of the fantastic cooling sensation. The seaweed does take a bit of getting used to, but trust me, it’s so worth it.

5. Maybelline Define-a-Line Eyeliner Pencil: This eyeliner is so easy and quick to apply. I like using a nice dark brown because it gives the same effect as black but without the excess drama, making it more appropriate for everyday wear. It’s also quite easy to smudge for a grungier finish. I additionally use it as an eyebrow pencil to fill in my brows and keep them looking nice and groomed – after all, eyebrows do frame the face. Thus, this isn’t just a summer essential, but a year-round staple as well.

6. Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream: We can’t have perfect skin all the time, but at least we can fake it. BB cream has been rapidly gaining popularity overseas after being exported from Asia, where practically every girl uses it. I got my first BB cream in Taiwan a few years ago, and I’ve been hooked since. It’s my facial do-all: it serves both as foundation and cover-up, and bonus! Missha Perfect Cover BB cream also has high SPF so we can protect ourselves from harmful sun exposure but still enjoy the great summer weather outside.

7. LUSH Angels on Bare Skin Cleanser: This is another one of my year-round staples, but especially during the summer, keeping my skin clear and flushing sweat and gunk out of my pores is absolutely crucial. This is by far one of my most favourite LUSH products because it smells heavenly and is remarkably easy to use. It’s suitable for all skin types, and is a gentle yet effective cleanser. It’s definitely done wonders in keeping my complexion even and preventing breakouts.

8. butter LONDON “Macbeth” 3 Free Nail Lacquer: I can never not have my nails painted. It’s bordering pathological. The bad news is, many nail polishes are known to contain harmful carcinogens. But the good news is, butter LONDON doesn’t! And its range includes dozens of unique, gorgeous, on-trend shades. My personal go-to is “Macbeth” not just because as an avid lover of Shakespeare, I appreciate its name, but also, I adore the gorgeous, peppy coral that’s perfect for spring and summer. I love classic retro looks, but alas, I cannot pull off the quintessential red nails quite as well as I would like. Fortunately for me, “Macbeth” provides a more playful, casual version of that retro feel I love.  And on days when I’m feeling extra fancy, I love to do a gold glitter gradient on top.

9. LUSH Cynthia Sylvia Stout Shampoo: My hair is usually an absolute disaster, but I can count on Cynthia Sylvia Stout to straighten things up right away. It gives my hair just the right amount of weight without sacrificing volume and keeps frizz under control, a godsend when I’m visiting more humid parts of the world during summer travels. Interestingly enough, one of its key ingredients is beer – that’s how it gives hair that gorgeous healthy shine. As someone who sports black hair, shine is absolutely essential in keeping my hair looking healthy and great. Three cheers for beer! (And a couple more for my triple rhyme right there.)

10. LUSH American Cream Conditioner: What better to prevent days spent in the sun from drying hair out than a light, lovely-smelling conditioner? I absolutely adore the American Cream conditioner, which has an irresistible strawberry cream scent reminiscent of an American milkshake. I only need to use a little to feel its effects – wonderfully soft, defined waves. But I imagine it’d be great on all hair types. I always use this together with the Cynthia Sylvia Stout shampoo, and the results are always fantastic. Plus, unlike most other conditioners, the wonderful scent does not go away after just a few hours, but lingers well into the next day. Yum.

11. Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner: This, of course, is one of my beauty splurges – Bobbi Brown is not exactly the epitome of “affordable” for a jobless student such as myself. But it’s money well-spent for me. I admit that I am not particularly adventurous when it comes to beauty, so I usually stick with simple, crisp winged eyeliner for my everyday look, my preference usually being black or dark brown. Of course, it won’t look very nice at all when sweat and heat cause eyeliner to become a melted mess, but Bobbi Brown’s eyeliner consistently stays in place and keeps looking crisp all day. It’s difficult to find a high-quality eyeliner that does this, and unfortunately, there is a hefty price to pay in this case.

12. LUSH Sparkle Toothy Tabs: I admit I felt a bit strange the first time I used LUSH’s toothy tabs, but I’ve grown accustomed to them very quickly and have had no desire to go back to traditional tube toothpaste since. Surprisingly easy to use and a nice change from the sickening mint taste most toothpastes have, Sparkle is my favourite of the toothy tab range because of the light, pleasant taste that leaves breath fresh and teeth clean. The best part is that they are so convenient to take along on my summer travels. Never again will I open my suitcase to discover that my toothpaste tube has exploded everywhere, and good riddance.

♬ Song of the Day: The Fear by Lily Allen

2 responses to “Summer Beauty Selections

  1. Nice post. I always like to read “favourites” posts like these ones. Just wanted to point out, though, that LUSH isn’t as natural as you might think. Read the ingredients carefully: they may have some natural ingredients but they are definitely not all natural as they use some harsh chemcials and preservatives.

    • Thanks for the warning! I am aware that some LUSH products are not quite “natural,” however, I do know the face masks don’t contain preservatives since they have to be refrigerated!

Leave a comment