LUSH Product Review: Let the Good Times Roll & Mask of Magnaminty

I still have quite a bit to blog about in regards to my recent travels, but all of my posts as of late have been about travel, so for the sake of variety, I’ll do a review on two Lush products I have tried recently: Let the Good Times Roll cleanser, and the Mask of Magnaminty.

Now, it’s no secret that I am a Lush addict. I stop by my local shop several times a month to pick up a mask or replenish my cleanser. I’ve even taken to using their shampoos and conditioners, with Cynthia Sylvia Stout and American Cream having worked wonders to tame my frizzy, lifeless hair. So naturally, when an email popped up in my inbox saying Lush’s “Let the Good Times Roll” cleanser, once a seasonal item beloved by veteran Lushies, was now a permanent fixture in their shops, I scrambled to grab myself a pot.

I’ve only been using Lush for a little under a year, so I’d never used Let the Good Times Roll before, since I hadn’t been shopping there at the time it was in-stock on a seasonal basis. It’s a cleanser made from corn meal and maize flour with cinnamon and a few other choice ingredients to exfoliate and balance skin. I’ve been using Angels on Bare Skin for a while, and it was working out nicely, but I was eager to try this one out, having read many rave reviews. And besides, I was running out of AoBS.

Let the Good Times Roll!

Let the Good Times Roll!

The colour is a little more orange-y in actuality, but my camera didn’t exactly pick up on it!

As with most other Lush facial cleansers, the method to using this cleanser is quite easy: simply pinch off a pea-sized amount, add a little water, and mix into a paste with your fingers, then apply to the face and scrub away.

The first thing I noticed about Let the Good Times Roll was the smell. It’s simply divine – like salted caramel popcorn. Compared to AoBS, it was more velvety in texture and was much easier/faster to make into a paste. It was also much more “scrubby,” as the grains in it were a little rougher. But I liked that extra scrubbiness – it doesn’t feel harsh or painful and left my skin feeling very polished and looking healthy with a little extra glow. It’s gentle enough to use every day, I’ve been told.

Although it did seem to diminish the size of the spots I had from a breakout, it didn’t make them go away completely, even after several uses. It made my skin very smooth and moisturised, but I still wanted a little more to get rid of those pesky spots. Simply diminishing them wouldn’t be enough for me – I wanted them completely gone. This is where the Mask of Magnaminty steps in.

(Yes, I know it’s spelled “magnanimity” but Lush calls it “Magnaminty” because, well…it’s minty! Clever, isn’t it?)

I love Lush’s fresh face masks, especially Love Lettuce, BB Seaweed, and Oatifix. This was my first time trying the Mask of Magnaminty, which unlike the other masks, doesn’t need to be refrigerated as it doesn’t contain ingredients with such limited shelf life. It’s also considerably more deep-cleansing and intense, thanks to the peppermint it contains – it also has honey, vanilla, and bits of adzuki beans for exfoliation.

Mask of Magnaminty!

Mask of Magnaminty!

As you can see from the photo, it’s a rather thick clay-like substance. Despite that, however, it spreads very easily on the face and a little goes a long way, so I believe my pot will last me quite a while if I use it once or twice a week. You apply it to the face and leave it on for about 15 minutes to let it work its magic before rinsing off. Apparently, it also works great on other parts of the body and not just the face.

I’m not a fan of minty smells, but at least this one doesn’t smell like toothpaste – it has an earthier quality to it. It feels very, very minty – a cooling and tingling, slightly burning sensation at once. Yes, quite paradoxical! But it’s almost like I can feel the mask getting into my pores and cleaning them out. I’m not the biggest fan of the feeling, but I did love the results – after two uses, those pesky spots are almost completely gone and my skin looks much more even and healthy, and it feels ridiculously soft and smooth. I’m not sure if this is an effect of the mask alone, however, as I’ve been using it in conjunction with the Let the Good Times Roll cleanser. However, I was unsure how much the adzuki bean bits were actually exfoliating – it seems to be the soft “skin” of the beans, so it doesn’t really feel like they’re doing much.

So overall, I’m quite pleased with these two products! Thanks to those lovely Lush products, I can continue to have healthy and clear skin that looks wonderful!

Song of the Day: Louie by Ida Maria

Leave a comment